2) DICTIONARIES AND LIBRARIES 5

Online dictionaries, translating sites, and thesaurus are appearing online almost overnight. Here are a few of my “quick picks” (click on the logos to access their sites):

Cambridge Dictionary (5 dictionaries): Cambridge University Press publishes a range of dictionaries for learners of English all around the world. You can search their dictionaries using the search box at the top of the page.

            FreeDictionary: Collection of dictionaries by subject including medical and legal together with free and subscription encyclopedias, in ten languages. An excellent free online dictionary which also contains a thesaurus and sound recognition. It also gives you lots of examples of how the word or expression is used in context.

     

             Free online dictionary, thesaurus, French-English, Spanish-English, etc. and medical dictionaries, audio pronunciations, Word of the Day, word games, and much more high-quality linguistic information.

¨

                A free online Talking English Pronunciation Dictionary – simply mouse over your entry to hear it pronounced.         American and British spellings, with alternative accents.

American Heritage Dictionary: http://www.bartleby.com/61/

¨All The Web: http://www.alltheweb.com/

¨Word Reference: http://www.wordreference.com/ Online language dictionaries from Oxford

¨English Idioms and Idiomatic Expressions: http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/idioms/: good source for learning over 3,449 colloquial expressions and common sayings

¨Grand Dictionnaire Terminologique: http://www.granddictionnaire.com/btml/fra/r_motclef/index1024_1.asp

¨Internet Public Library:http://www.ipl.org/

¨Library Spot (Online Library Portal): http://www.libraryspot.com/

¨National Geographic: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/index.html

¨Questia (World’s Largest Online Library): http://www.questia.com/ ($$$)

¨GuruNet: http://www.gurunet.com/

¨Ultra Lingua’s Web Dictionary: http://www.ultralingua.com/en/index.html

¨The Wordsmyth English Dictionary-Thesaurus: http://www.wordsmyth.net/

¨Your Dictionary: http://www.yourdictionary.com

¨High Beam Library: http://www.highbeam.com/library/index.asp? ($$$) (Find lots of periodicals here online)

¨The Change Agent (New England Library) : http://www.nelrc.org/changeagent/backIssues.htm

¨Library of Congress (Washington D.C.): http://www.loc.gov/

¨America’s Library: http://www.americaslibrary.gov/cgi-bin/page.cgi

¨Smithsonian Library: http://www.sil.si.edu/

5 comments

  1. Best you should change the blog name Dictionaries and Libraries Deb’s Quick Picks Blog to more better for your webpage you create. I liked the the writing all the same.

  2. Have you been searching the internet for answers to your wrist or hand pain? Did you search for magnet therapy and get many offers to sell you something but not thr answers to your questions?I sm a massage therapist wth conecntration on pain problesm and I help people with pain like yours every week ambien In impeding carpal tunnel syndrome to worsen, there should be essential tseps to be considered

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s